Do Janne is chairman / jury member for three awards

26 September 2019

ARC19 Development Award

This year,
Do Janne is the chairman of the jury for the ARC19 Development Award, the prize
for best-developed architecture project of 2018/2019. This concerns projects that
are submitted jointly by the architect and the developer. The aim of the prize
is to promote the use of excellent architecture in a commercial project
development. The award also wants to promote the dialogue between project
developer and architect, in order to strive for a high-quality built

The three
nominated projects for the ARC19 Development Award this year are: Werk and
Studio building Imagewharf by Affaire d’Architecture, Spaardersbad by Mei
architects and planners and the transformation of the office Schubertsingel by
Houben / Van Mierlo Architecten

The jury of
the ARC19 Development Award consists of Do Janne Vermeulen (chairman), Remi
Versteeg (Space Encounters), Jan Hein Tiedema (Edge Technologies), Lieske van
Pelt (CBRE Global Investors) and Harm Tilman (secretary, de Architect). The
presentation of the ARC19 Awards will take place on Thursday, November 7, 2019
in Amsterdam.

BNA Next Step Award

Do Janne is
also chairman of the Next Step Award. The program and the award offer young
architects more space for development. As a young architect you really get the
opportunity to take your own next step. The jury has selected four finalists:
Atelier Van Berlo, Beta – office for architecture and the city, Overtreders W
and Urban Echoes. They are competing for 10,000 euros and possibly a design
assignment from project developer Synchroon. The winner will be announced on
November 14 during the BNA Architectendag in Utrecht.

The jury
led by Do Janne assessed the creative leadership, the strategic
(entrepreneurial) vision of the agencies and the extent to which the young
agencies were ready for a crucial “next step” in their professional
development. The other jury members are Ingrid van der Heijden (CIVIC
architects), Hedwig Heinsman (DUS Architects), Nanne de Ru (Powerhouse
Company), Anne van der Zwaag (OBJECT Rotterdam), Tobias Verhoeven (SYNCHROON)
and Fred Schoorl (BNA).

Rotterdam Architecture Prize

Rotterdam Architecture Prize is an independent award for the city of Rotterdam.
It is an initiative of the Municipality of Rotterdam, organized by AIR, the
architecture center of Rotterdam. The award consists of a jury award and a
public award and is intended for the client, builder and architect team.

This year’s
jury is chaired by Esther Agricola (Director of Spatial Planning and
Sustainability of the Municipality of Amsterdam), Marianne van der Sanden
(Braaksma & Roos), Niraj Sewraj (Urban Developer at BPD) and Do Janne.

selection of the jury will be announced at the beginning of November and the
public award will be open for voting. The award ceremony will take place on
Wednesday 18 December.

Related news